Breathe the Fresh Air

Journal – tagged "News!":                                  Photo Credit: Peg and Awl.  http://pegandawlbuilt.com/

It has been a busy week!  I haven’t done any new furniture flips this past week because I have mostly been enjoying Spring in New England.  The warm weather has finally started to arrive here and I have been soaking it all in!  Last week I spent most of the week doing yard work.  My gardens needed some serious tending to after the long Massachusetts winter.  They were sad and needed a “make me pretty again, please!” moment.  After getting them all prepped with raking, weeding, and flipping the soil, my youngest daughter and I went to Home Depot and got a bunch of flowers to plant.  It was fun picking out flowers together and then finding the perfect spot to plant each one.

I will admit that I was never a gardener, but over the past few years I have slowly started to become more comfortable after putting some real effort into it.   I learned a lot along the way about what worked, what didn’t, and what I could do better next season.  It is always fun to see a tiny little plant blossom after you provide the necessary care toward it. One of the most important things that I have learned is that placing a plant in the proper environment is so important, as well as caring for it properly.  Another important part of gardening is to not give up on the process.  Don’t give up on plants too easily, just change up what you are doing with them.  Consider watering more, watering less, adding fertilizer, repotting it, or moving it’s location and sometimes it will bounce back and be just as amazing as it was meant to be! Little baby plants are symbolic to people… if we are feeling dry and uninspired….change things up, do something different so that you can bloom and thrive!

Yesterday, was one of those “perfect temperature” kind of days (high 70’s with a light breeze).   I had a lot of work that I should do around the house, but I decided to not waste a day of beautiful sunshine and go for a hike.  My mother in law had my daughter for a “grammie” day and I used it to my full advantage.  I initially contemplated going on another solo mountain trip, but I really did need accomplish some tasks and not spend too much time away.  I decided I would go to a new local spot that I had heard great things about, but never actually done myself.  I went to a state forest in Newburyport, MA called Maudslay State Park.  If you live in the area and have never been….go!  The one thing I regret is leaving the map that I printed up….on my printer!  Yeah, I realized this just as I was parking my car in the parking lot.  They have a map at the entrance, but it was not a very detailed one.  There are a ton of different trails that you can walk, but the blazes on the trail are not well marked.  With that being said, I didn’t want to wander too far away without knowing where I would end up.  Some of the trails go right along with riverside and it is right near the ocean.  As you are walking you can smell a mix of both forest and ocean all the at the same time.  What is better than that?  I found a comfortable spot to sit right by the water, read my book, and just enjoy the time listening to the wildlife around me.  One thing that I am so thankful for is having a father who was a science teacher.  Growing up he instilled in me a respect for animals and a love of nature.  It has allowed me to share that same love with my own two girls.  When you take the time to just sit, observe your surroundings, and pay attention to the details…Creation is astounding!  I am going to leave you with a few pictures of yesterdays hike and I can definitely say that I will be going back….with a map!  Enjoy your week and embrace the fresh air and beauty around you!

“Some old-fashioned things like sunshine and fresh air are heard to beat”

~ Laura Ingalls Wilder

One thought on “Breathe the Fresh Air

Leave a Reply

