Brimfield or Bust!!!

As many of you know, this weekend I got to experience my first Brimfield Antique Show.  For years I have wanted to go to this show and this is the year it happened.  For all of you who are wondering what in the world “Brimfield” is, I will give you a quick overview.  It takes place 3 times a year for about a week (May, July, and September).  The show is located in Brimfield, Massachusetts which is about an hour and 20 minutes from my home.  If you are a lover of antiques, people watching, and all things eclectic ….this is the place to be!  Brimfield Antiques show is the largest outdoor antique show in the entire world.  People come from everywhere to be here (including Europe, Japan, and Africa) !  It is compromised of over 23 different fields filled with venders and booths along one main road (Rt. 20)   The day started off long due to sitting in enormous amounts of traffic, but we were determined and eventually got there.  While we were pulling onto the main

image

Flea Market Flip being Filmed

road, we saw the HGTV show “Flea Market Flip” being filmed and people gathering to watch.  It was fun to see, but then I remembered…time to focus on finding a spot to park!!!   Finding parking was no easy feat as many of the lots were already full.  But we finally found a spot on the far end of one of the fields! Now the treasure hunt could begin!   It was overwhelming to say the least!  I didn’t even know where to begin or what I wanted to see the most.  I had a mental list in my head of items I was

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Parked in the distance ready to go!

looking forward to finding, but it’s easy to forget in this atmosphere.  The sights, the sounds, the food, everything was amazing!  I will be honest in telling you that some booths had fantastic pieces, but were way overpriced.  There were other booths who were very reasonable and willing to “haggle”.  There were some booths that just had pure junk.  I felt guilty because for the first hour I just “browsed”.  I didn’t want to put my money down on something and then later find that I would fall in love with something bigger and better. Eventually I hit my stride, started “haggling”, and purchased a few small primitive items that were priced fairly and fit my decorating style.  Here of some of my finds from the weekend!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To briefly sum it up….I would say it is worth the visit.  The crazy part is that we only got around to seeing about 1/3 of all that was there!  It is an experience like no other and seeing all the different booths was so fun!  Brimfield sparked with creativity!  Seeing how people styled items, set up their booths, utilized random pieces.  It gives you such a broad idea as to what you can do with simple items to inspire! Here is a quick slideshow to give you an idea of some of the items for sale and what the booths looked like.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It was fun, exhausting, and I am so glad we did it.  I am already planning for the next time I go!! If you have ever thought of visiting…let me know, I’ll give you some pointers and tips that I learned that might make it easier for you!

Leave a Reply

