The Little White Dresser that Fought Back

Another week is here and I am going to present you with the bane of my existence.  Okay, maybe I am being a bit melodramatic, but seriously this furniture flip was a lot more work than I initially envisioned.  It started with a simple picture text from my friend, “hey my neighbor is getting rid of this…do you want it?”.  All giddy and excited, “Yes, ABSOLUTELY”.  It looked awful, but it was solid wood and had “cute” potential!  My darling friend Stephanie even brought it over THAT day for me!! Wahoo!  That is what you call a good friend!  Even she laughed and said, “can’t wait to see what you do with this one”….I should have known then….I was doomed…

image

Day 1:  I took all the ugly decals off and removed the nasty old contact paper in the drawers.  For this project I knew I was going to have to strip it.  The paint was really chippy and peeling in spots and the previous paint job was bad.  This was my first time actually stripping something.  The bottle said “strips easily in 15 minutes”…not true!  I stripped and stripped and stripped….the paint just took forever to come off!  It took a couple of hours to get a good bit of it stripped and I decided to stop there.  This was when I knew that this little dresser was going to give me a run for my money.  I did a little more research and got a specific stripper called Soy gel Stripper and finally got the rest of the old paint off.

I decided to paint this dresser with white chalk paint because I knew the milk paint  would have a hard time adhering to this surface.  Chalk paint is great because you can paint anything with no prep work involved.  You can virtually find chalk paint everywhere now!! I bought this white can at Home Depot, but you can find chalk paint at Michaels, Target, Antique shops, etc.  It is similar to milk paint, but doesn’t naturally chip on it’s own like the milk paint.  I used 2 coats of chalk paint Minwax 63333 Satin Polycrylic Protective Finishes, 1 Quartand  finished with a coat of Polyacrylic in satin finish.  Polyacrylic is great especially on lightly colored painted items.  It is similar to polyurethane as it gives a nice protective top coat, but polyurethane does tend to have a yellowing component in it.  I often use Polyacrylic with painted items and Polyurethane with wood stained pieces.

The last step was the finishing touches.  A few weeks ago I told you about how I went Antique Silver Glass Knobto Hobby Lobby for the first time and fell in love.  Well, while I was there I picked up some cute antique styled silver glass knobs for this project.  Totes Adorbs…right?  I also knew that I wanted to get some cute paper to reline the drawers.  So…Spoonflower to the rescue!  If you haven’t heard of Spoonflower…check it out http://www.spoonflower.com/how_it_works .  They take graphic designs and drawings and make fabric, wallpaper, and wrapping paper with the design.  I found this awesome scalloped paper by littlearrowdesigncompany and decided this would be the perfect fit.  Once I got the paper, I measured it and then used some spray adhesive for it to adhere to the drawer.  Finally….THERE YOU HAVE IT, the story of a little white dresser who decided to fight back!

image

image

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

 

5 thoughts on “The Little White Dresser that Fought Back

    • No apologizing…it was a great learning experience for me! Helped me sharpen my flipping skills 🙂 any more neighbor trash…you know where I am !

      Like

  1. Becky, You are amazing! I can see with very little effort, you will be our own “Northern Joanna”! So, do you have a name in mind for your “Magnolia” business?! So enjoy your enthusiasm for re-using/re-purposing old pieces. It is like you are literally breathing fresh, new life into something which brings much joy and is useful as well! I enjoy your enthusiasm! Love you, A. Bev

    Like

    • Thanks Auntie Bev! I have fun doing it and there’s nothing like giving something that someone was going to throw out…new life! I don’t know about being the “northern Joanna”, but she certainly inspires me! Hugs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

