Potty Seat Revitalized

My latest “before & after” is about a potty seat! Yes, a potty seat!  My father-in-law had this sweet little antique potty seat/high chair sitting in his basement that he had no use for ….so I was the lucky benefactor.  Yippee!!!

The potty seat was cute and had so much potential!  It was covered in dust and had some surface scratches, but was screaming “liven me up!”.  So that is what I did!  I washed it with some soap and water and then sanded it down to soften some of theImage result for old fashioned milk paint in snow white rough spots and scratches.  Finally, I made the decision to paint it.  I chose to go with a classic distressed white finish as this potty seat was dull and needed to be bright and clean!  I painted it with Old Fashioned Milk Paint Co. in the color of Snow White.

It ended up needing three coats because the of the dark original stain of the chair. I’ll be honest in saying that painting the spindles and chair rails was tedious and sort of annoying, but all good things come in time!  After the painting was done, I distressed it with sanding the edges where natural wear and tear would have occurred.  antique wax Collage.jpg Then the final steps!!! The fun part!!! I decided to try something new and use wax!!!  I recently purchased some of Miss Mustard Seed’s Antiquing Wax and have been waiting for a project to use this on!  First, you use a clean cotton cloth or brush to apply wax in a thin layer, working into recesses of carved details or surface imperfections.  Wipe away excess.  Allow it to dry for 3-5 minutes.  Buff to a shine with a clean lint-free cotton cloth. This wax is great if you want to give any distressed areas, especially carved details, an instant, authentic-looking patina.  It makes those areas really pop!  Finally, I sealed it with an exterior polyurethane in case it is used outside.  I saw this little chair as being a perfect little planter for either inside or outside!  Another option would be to hang it on the wall for display (you could put a little photo on the tray of the chair as well).  Say hello to my newly revived potty seat ! 🙂 Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Potty Seat Revitalized

    • Exactly! I ended up selling this piece to a nice lady who fell in love with it right away…another home is blessed by this treasure 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

