Gate leg Table Before & After

Before:

Another week and I am finally posting my second official before and after!  This table I have had for a while in my basement.  I loved it, but didn’t have the space for it in my house and it was just a bit dull and plain.  Gateleg tables are great because they are very versatile.  You can keep them as a side table, or open them up and use them as a small coffee table or accent table.   This particular gateleg table had some old water rings and light scratches on the top which meant it would be hard to leave it stained as it was.  I would have to sand the entire top down and, to be honest, I didn’t  want to put that much work into it (just call me lazy !! haha ).  I always love the look of black furniture with a stained top, but decided to keep it simple and paint the whole piece with Old Fashioned milk paint Co. in pitch black.  Milk paint is a very fun product to use if you can stand the fact that it does what it wants.  It is a paint that has a mind of it’s own!  The great thing about milk  paint is that you don’t have to do any major prep work with it, but like I said….it can get a little bit CRAZY!  It creates a really neat texture and will totally give you that authentic old “chippy” look that you see on antique furniture.  If you don’t want it to get really chippy/crackled and want control as to where a piece will distress, then just add a bonding agent to it.  So….with all that said….here are the final results of my gateleg table flip.  I think she’s cute and hopefully I will find a loving home for her!    Let me know what you think !

After:

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

One thought on “Gate leg Table Before & After

Leave a Reply

