Daring Greatly

I began this blog as an outlet for my creativity.  As the year of 2016 first started…I started to do some serious reevaluating of everything that I’ve known for so long.  I am seeking to know for myself….what makes me truly happy? (besides my amazing family, friends, and faith…those are what I call “obvious givens”).  If I could wake up every day and live a life of true and honest passion?  A few weeks ago as I was “developing my sense of creative living” I stumbled upon a book at the library called “Daring Greatly” by Brene Brown.  It was a well-reviewed book on Amazon, but I was skeptical because I’m not one for “self-help books”… I’m a Christian, my faith and the Bible has always been the only “self help” I need.  But I’ll be honest in saying that this book has been so insightful and thought provoking that I had to write about it.

The book starts with a quote from Theodore Roosevelt.

teddy

 

 

That quote alone describes what being “Vulnerable” is (how uncomfortable does that word make you feel right now?).  In “Daring Greatly”, Dr. Brown writes,  “Vulnerability is not knowing victory or defeat, it’s understanding the necessity of both; it’s engaging. It’s being all in.”  Later Dr. Brown goes on to say, “When we spend our lives waiting until we’re perfect or bulletproof before we walk into the arena, we ultimately sacrifice relationships and opportunities that may not be recoverable, we squander our precious time, and we turn our backs on our gifts, those unique contributions that only we can make.  Perfect and Bulletproof are seductive, but they don’t exist in the human experience.  We must walk into the arena, whatever if may be-a new relationship, an important meeting, our creative process, or a difficult conversation-with courage and willingness to engage.  Rather than sitting on the sidelines and hurling judgement or advice, we must dare to show up and let ourselves be seen.  This is vulnerability.  This is daring greatly.  “   .  This was just the introduction!  I am only halfway into this book and I’ve already had a lot of “ah-ha” moments.  A question that I am going to leave you with is this ….

attempt                                       

Let us all have the courage to show up and be seen this week…

One thought on “Daring Greatly

Leave a Reply

